Something Old…. Something New

I’ve made a major decision regarding my hair.

And before you roll your eyes and sigh, please, hear me out. I’ve tried everything but dreadlocks with my hair. I was a chick with a TWA as the trend of “going natural” just began to break out, and I know how annoying it can be to see formerly superficial girls turn into tree-hugging organic product junkies.

That is NOT going to be me.

I’ve decided to cut my hair really short. I know, everyone tells me that I look best with long hair, but the thing about that is, it’s not mine. And I have no problem with weaves, extensions, wigs, and the like. I agree. I look great with long hair. The closest I have been to really short hair was my short-lived TWA, which I quickly nurtured with braided extensions.

So here goes, I’m gonna cut my hair really short some time after I get home. It’ll be kinky twists one day, then the next, nada. It isn’t for any particular reason besides the fact that I’ve never done it before, and I think I can pull it off. And… secretly, after years of watching my mother cut my brother’s hair, I always wondered what clippers felt like on my scalp!

I know that to pull off such a look, my makeup, eyebrows, and style are going to have to be complimentary. I’m looking forward to the change! I already told some friends about it, and received mixed reactions, but support nonetheless. I have faith that I’ll look great, and if not, to the wig shop I go!

Look out for posts and pics on all that… I’m gonna have a mannequin head!

 

xo Tiye

Leave a Reply

